I have a pen pal!

This month I signed up to be a Foodie Pen Pal, a program of about 1,300 people who sent each other $15 worth of food every month. I did it for fun, just to see if it was something I would like, since i enjoy discovering new food.

I received my box from Meghan in Vermont, and it was actually her first time doing the Foodie Pen Pal program, too. The note she wrote was incredibly cute and I loved the variety of the food she sent.

I opened the box to this...

I opened the box to this…

...and a cute card describing everything she included...

…and a cute card describing everything she included…

...wrapped like it was my birthday...

…wrapped like it was my birthday…

...new food to try!

I immediately ate the chocolates she had included–they were so good!┬áHer homemade protein balls (top right) were great for a delicious and quick morning breakfast. I used the cranberries to make a cranberry jalapeno cream cheese dip for a Thanksgiving dinner appetizer–definitely going to make that again, it was a big hit! And, maple syrup is one of those things where the pure maple syrup tastes much, much better (and is better for you!) than Aunt Jemima’s or Mrs. Butterworth’s, so that was a much appreciated addition to the food box, too.

This was the first month that I’ve taken part in the Foodie Pen Pal happenings, and I enjoyed it. The cheapskate in me hates paying shipping to send food across the country, but the kid in me loves getting packages in the mail AND new food to try. I’m undecided if I will participate in the pen pal program again, but I am glad I tried it out. Thanks, Meghan, for sending me great food and thank you, Lindsay, for organizing the program.

The Lean Green Bean
P.S. I sent my box of goodies to Chelsy in North Carolina. She’s not a blogger so she didn’t post anything, but I hope she enjoyed it all!

Leave a Reply

