Our first harvest

One of the many things I loved about our home when we were house hunting is that it has a raised bed for a garden. Yes, this is a small perk and obviously wasn’t a deal breaker, but it’s a perk nonetheless.

In early summer I planted zucchini, strawberries, okra, red peppers, tomatoes, romaine lettuce, and peas and have been trying to water the garden regularly. I also put up some plastic fencing around the raised bed, as I’ve seen many rabbits on my neighborhood jogs and didn’t want the rabbits to get all the food.

Last night I brought in our first harvest: a big, fat zucchini. It’s almost as big as our oven mitt.

raised bed zucchini

To me, zucchini is one of the more versatile veggies. Recently I made this delicious baked zucchini parmesan recipe (seriously, go try that! Sooo easy and very tasty.) I’ve also made zucchini fries that I’ve enjoyed. This past weekend when camping with Chels and Pat we made campfire packets with zucchini and peppers (one with italian dressing, one with seasoned salt).

I’m looking for something tasty to make with this beloved zucchini from our garden, so send your ideas my way!

Leave a Reply

