Dinner Discoveries

I’ve always been one to try new recipes, and lately I’ve had great luck discovering ones we like:

  1. Zucchini Parmesan – I’ve made this twice now. The first time I used leftover meat sauce from a pasta party we hosted before the Third Coast Relay, and the second time I just used canned sauce (no meat.) Both were delicious, although Austin is always an advocate for meat in his dinners.

    Image from link (not my own)

    Image from link (not my own photo, although our meal looked the same)

  2. Sweet Potato & Black Bean Tacos – I never would have thought the sweetness of the potatoes would make a good addition to a Mexican-inspired meal, but they were so good! I actually had leftovers of these for lunch today.
  3. Loaded Baked Potato & Chicken Casserole – If you know me, you know I love potatoes. I could eat mashed potatoes for every meal, no joke. So this potato casserole definitely intrigued me, and it did not disappoint. I made this on a Friday night and we ate it during a movie night…perfect comfort meal.
  4. Jambalaya – In May a couple in our small group from church welcomed a sweet baby boy into their lives, and we offered to bring them dinner and meet their cutie. I’m not sure what convinced me to make jambalaya, but whatever the case this meal was delicious. I didn’t add the chicken because I used more shrimp and turkey sausage than the recipe called for, and honestly it didn’t need chicken. Also, I used pre-mixed homemade “cajun seasoning” I received from my brother-in-law a while ago, so I didn’t need to add all of the spices in the recipe. Everyone enjoyed this dish, and I hope the new parents ¬†were able to eat the leftovers for future meals that week.
  5. Turkey & Balsamic Onion Quesadillas – With the convenience and ease that comes with making quesadillas for dinner, these have become a staple for us. Often we have black bean quesadillas, sometimes ham and cheddar or even breakfast quesadillas with eggs. When I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it. Onions soaked in balsamic vinegar are one of my new favorite things (they are wonderful on salads, too!)

Leave a Reply

